Rovers youth and reserve teams.

Discuss all things Rovers related except...
Gibbon
Promising manager

Rovers youth and reserve teams.

Post by Gibbon » Fri Sep 18, 2009 11:26 am

linky
Blackburn Rovers have appointed Phil Cannon as the club's new Academy Manager.

Phil brings a wealth of experience in youth football, particularly in the crucial area of recruitment, to the role and will take up his position on Monday.

He has worked within youth football at top level for many years, most notably during a seven-year spell as Head of Academy Recruitment at Everton.

"I see this as an exciting and challenging opportunity," said Phil, who has also worked at Swindon Town and Derby County. "My background is totally dedicated to the identification, recruitment and development of young footballers which I believe is the clear way forward for all Premier Legue clubs."
Hopefully very good news. :D

Gibbon
Promising manager

Re: Rovers Academy.

Post by Gibbon » Fri Jan 29, 2010 10:56 am

Rovers under 18's beat Man U's 3-0 in the FA youth cup quarter finals.

Sounds like somethings going right at the academy now. Well done the lads! :hyper:

Rover the Top
Experienced manager

Post by Rover the Top » Fri Jan 29, 2010 11:07 am

Bollocks, I forgot about that. I wanted to go and watch, but I was supposed to be out with a mate last night. But then he cancelled, so I could have gone. If I remembered. :numpty;

Gibbon
Promising manager

Post by Gibbon » Fri Jan 29, 2010 11:39 am

Marcus Marshall interview on his move to Rotheram.

"Last season I scored ten goals in 14 games for the reserves. This season we haven't played many games and I've got one in four. I've worked under Mark Hughes, Paul Ince and Sam Allardyce but I liked Ince the best. He was more involved with the younger lot. I didn't work with Hughes long, so I can't really judge him, but Sam is strict. He wants to win."

Don't expect to read that everyday. :shock:

Rover the Top
Experienced manager